XLR8R - logo


Clark Shares New Mix

With just over a week left before Clark's self-titled LP for Warp arrives, the UK producer has put together a new mix of disparate electronic sounds. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/22/2014

Throne of Blood Details Second 'Moon Rock' Compilation, Streams Track from The Loose Control Band

New York-based imprint Throne of Blood has detailed the second in a series of ambient and cosmic-techno compilations which launched earlier this year (the first of which was highlighted in our report on the state of ambient music back in August). The upcoming Moon Rock Volume 2 collection reportedly roams farther afield than its predecessor, presenting "a more expansive view of chakra-stimulating space-music straddling techno, strange acoustic instrumentation, and Balearic flavors." Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/22/2014

Check Out Mister Saturday Night's Set for Beats in Space

Yesterday, Brooklyn party proponents, label founders, and former XLR8R podcast contributors Mister Saturday Night dropped by Tim Sweeney's weekly Beats in Space radio show to play some records. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/22/2014

Download: Pixelord "Oasis (Recue Remix)"

First Listen

In its original form, Pixelord's "Oasis" production leads off the Russian producer's recent Polygon Fane EP for Infinite Machine with a bit of back-and-forth, the tune switching off from being led by sprightly melodies to sections which dip down benath low-knocking sub-bass. On his remix, budding Finnish talent Recue fuses together the track's alternating parts, resulting in a rework that is slightly more brooding as it adds new layers of rattling percussion and laser-sharp synths which appear just slightly burnt at their edges. Ending with a barrage of stumbling drum patterns which become absorbed by a swell of buzzing chords, Recue's rework is a markedly more dramatic affair than Pixelord's own version of "Oasis," but also one which puts a welcome new spin on the former XLR8R podcast contributor's track. 

Average: 9 (5 votes)

Listen to Jacques Renault's Upcoming 'Out of Sync' EP for Let's Play House


Though certainly not a newcomer to the world of production, the forthcoming Out of Sync EP from NYC resident Jacques Renault is billed as the first "full EP" of his career, finding the artist delivering a collection of entirely original productions for the first time. Set to land next week via Let's Play House, Renault's upcoming four-track outing is now streaming in full exclusively on XLR8R. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/22/2014

Hear a Track from Bruce's Debut EP for Hessle

UK upstart Bruce has snagged a fair share of attention over the past few months, first with his debut 12" for Livity Sound sub-label Dnous Ytivil, and shortly after with news of an upcoming EP for Hessle. While this latest three-track effort won't see an official release until next week, closing cut "My Legs Wouldn't Go Quick Enough" has been made available to steam. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/22/2014

Download: Djedjotronic "Traffic"

Label: Boysnoize

Back in August, Djedjotronic issued his Drum Program EP via the Boysnoize label, and now the seasoned DJ/producer is set to return to the imprint with Interstate 101, a "21-track salute to electro music." Incorporating a number of his own productions as well as those from The Hacker, Atom TM, Maelstrom, and others, the forthcoming mix album is said to represent—according to Djedjotronic himself—"a road trip through wild electronic territories with a detour into the techno mountains." Of the tracks included is the Berlin producer's own "Traffic," a full-bodied electro track which charges with a pulsing bassline that jumps just out ahead of the production's snapping drums and regular waves of space-age synth swells. Out on October 27 (in both mixed and unmixed form), Interstate 101 can be previewed after the jump, where we've also included the compilation's complete tracklist.  Read more » 

Average: 8 (6 votes)

Review: Cooly G Wait 'Til Night

Label: Hyperdub

Fans of Cooly G (a.k.a. Merissa Campbell) have come to expect certain things from her music at this point—sultry, rippling house, laced with a lot of dubby whispering of sweet nothings—and Wait 'Til Night, her latest LP, still bears traces of her signature sound. However, the album's title is no joke. One could swear that Campbell used to be more subtle. A few years ago, her scattered drums would form the backbone to a repeated "missing you," or some commonplace phrase like that. It was possible to listen to her tracks during the daytime. The content on Wait 'Til Night, however, sounds wildly out of place anytime before sunset, because the new record finds Campbell constantly pinpointing a very specific eroticism. Read more » 

  • Filed under: review
  • 10/22/2014

Watch a New Video from Sage Caswell

Sage Caswell has revealed a new video for "Amber Gloss/Making Out," one of three original tracks set to appear on his upcoming EP for Brooklyn trio Archie Pelago's eponymous imprint. Read more » 

  • Filed under: news
  • 10/22/2014

Gear: Artist Tips: Matom Shares Five of Its Key Production Philosophies

Earlier this year, the world was introduced to Matom, a collaborative project from Thomas Gandey and Radio Slave (a.k.a. Matt Edwards). The pair started its run in grand fashion, issuing an LP, 'Love Mistakes,' via Carl Craig's Planet E label. (Originally released on vinyl over the summer, the record was given a wider release on CD and digital formats last month.) Clearly created by veteran artists who know their way around the studio, 'Love Mistakes' is packed with lengthy explorations that often only lightly reference house while incorporating elements of jazz, new age, and a myriad of smoothly introspective sounds. Given that so much knowledge went into the record, we figured its creators might be willing to share a bit of it with the XLR8R audience, and enlisted Gandey to spell out a few of the artistic and production philosophies that he and Edwards have relied upon over the years. Read more » 

  • Filed under: gear
  • 10/22/2014

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player